人工智能将会对人们每天的生活带来意义深远的影响,也会为公司打开一个全新的商业模式与收入来源。一些公司,包括脸书、亚马逊、微软、谷歌、阿里巴巴、腾讯、百度等,都在产生大量的数据,包括人脸、位置、行为习惯、社交照片等。物联网已经到来,而且正在指数级的增长;自动驾驶汽车已经进入市场,云计算已经无处不在。我们刚开始想象如何借助于这些创新来开创一个人工智能的新时代,创建新的商业模式、新的生产率典范和新的大众娱乐方式,这些不仅对人类带来意义深远的影响,而且也为通过数据盈利的创新者带来巨大的财富。

首先,需要收集与存储这些“大”数据。但是,比数据有多“大”更为重要的是,如何驱动下一波的创新。在人工智能竞赛中的胜出者需要做四件事:1、访问大量的数据;2、访问正确的数据;3、把数据变为具有可行动性的洞察力的强大算法;4、超越竞争对手的速度和规模。今天,通过训练人工智能算法与创建新的应用,数据有机会成为利润中心。更多的数据训练,就会让人工智能算法更聪明 。

只有应用Crossbar ReRAM这样新的存储技术,才能够发挥人工智能真实的潜能,实现速度、低功耗/高能效、存储容量与可制造性的完美结合,使这个崭新的世界成为现实。

用存储为中心的计算来重新思考人工智能

当目标从简单的代码行的抓取,转变成对从外部传感器获取的大量数据进行实时处理、分析、执行时,大数据到人工智能的根本转变就来临了。从传感器来的数据可以存储在芯片上,直接输送给深度神经网络,以便采取直接的行动。非易失性的存储技术,比如Crossbar ReRAM存储技术,通过低功耗、快速读取、基于字节寻址的写操作,来帮助应对性能与功耗的挑战。Crossbar ReRAM存储技术能够直接集成在芯片内部,产生一个新的以存储为中心的片上系统架构。通过与处理器核集成在同一颗芯片中的片上系统方案,ReRAM充分地加速了深度神经网络算法。ReRAM技术是一个重要的创新,它加速人工智能的潜能,实现多种应用,加速性能,极大地提高能效,实现更高级的安全性,减少芯片的数量和芯片的面积。

高性能计算,比如人工智能,需要在处理器、存储与输入输出之间进行高带宽、低时延的数据访问。 Crossbar ReRAM存储技术通过减少计算与存储之间的性能差距,显著地提升了高性能计算应用的性能。

我们非常高兴看到Crossbar以CMOS生产设备制造出其第一个工作阵列芯片,这是一个重要的业界里程碑。在实现将一种全新的、使用比传统闪存简单得多的单元结构的内存商业化的目标上,我们又前近了一步。Artiman非常高兴能与Crossbar继续合作,为内存行业带去彻底变革。
Yatin Mundkur
合作人, Artiman Ventures

Artificial intelligence will have a profound impact on the everyday lives of humans and will also open up brand new business models and revenue streams for companies. Companies like Facebook, Amazon, Microsoft, Google, Alibaba, Tencent and Baidu are creating massive databases of faces, locations, habits, social graphs, etc. The Internet of Things is here and growing exponentially. Self-driving cars are on the market. Cloud computing is pervasive. And yet we have just begun to imagine how to leverage those inventions to create this new world of artificial intelligence, delivering new business models, new productivity paradigms, new ways of entertaining the masses that will not only have profound effects on mankind – but also generate enormous amounts of wealth for the innovators who can monetize that data.

Phase 1 was the gathering and storage of “big” data. But it’s a lot more than how big the data is that will drive the next wave of innovation. The winners in the race for AI will need four things: 1) access to lots of data, 2) access to the right data, 3) powerful algorithms that turn data into actionable insights and 4) the speed and scale to outdistance the competition. Today, data has the opportunity to serve as a profit center as it trains algorithms and creates new applications. The more data, the smarter the AI algorithms will be.

Only with new memory technologies such as Crossbar ReRAM memory technologies, can the true potential of artificial intelligence be realized, delivering the speed, low power/energy efficiency, storage capacity and manufacturability to make this new world a reality.

ReThink Artificial Intelligence with Memory Centric Computing

The radical shift from big data to AI comes when objects transition from simply fetching lines of code to processing, analyzing and acting on massive amounts of external data from sensors in real-time. Data coming from sensors can be stored on-chip and directly fed through deep neural networks to take direct actions. Non-volatile memory technologies such as Crossbar ReRAM are helping to address the performance and energy challenges by delivering lower power, faster read and byte-addressable writes. Crossbar ReRAM technology can be directly integrated on-chip with the processing logic enabling brand new memory-centric SoC architectures. On-chip integration with processor cores on a single chip solution makes ReRAM adequate to accelerate deep neural network algorithms. ReRAM technology is an important innovation to accelerate the potential of artificial intelligence universe, enabling a multitude of applications that can speed up performance, dramatically improve energy efficiency, enable advanced security and reduce chip count and size.

High performance computing applications, such as artificial intelligence require high-bandwidth low latency data accesses across processors, storage and IOs. Crossbar ReRAM memory technologies provide significant improvements by reducing the performance gap between storage and computing.

We are thrilled to see Crossbar achieve a significant industry milestone and produce its first working array in CMOS production facility. We are one step closer to achieving our goal of commercializing a completely new class of memory using a much simpler cell structure than traditional flash alternatives. Artiman is excited to continue working with Crossbar to revolutionize the memory industry.
Yatin Mundkur
Partner, Artiman Ventures