每天,消费者都在创造、获取和分发不计其数的多媒体内容,并且希望能够在他们的平板、智能手机、游戏系统和电视上即时播放这些内容。高分辨率显示屏领域的创新正在驱动着对高容量存储解决方案的需求。一台4K超高清电视所拥有的像素数量是1080p高清显示屏的4倍。下一代8K高清显示屏每一帧所含像素数量将超过3300万,一张粗制图像就需要33兆的存储空间。多媒体文件急速增长的文件大小正在对物理媒体存储行业提出变革性挑战;现有的蓝光碟已无法容纳一部时长2小时的4K或更高精度电影。固态存储行业必须重塑多媒体内容的物理存储和分发形式。

Crossbar有效应对文件大小急速增长的挑战

即使采用最先进的压缩编码技术,高清多媒体内容仍然要求巨大的带宽来实现无预缓存读写。光盘和基于NAND闪存的固态驱动器自身的设计和物理局限所带来的固有的延滞将影响用户的体验。

Crossbar的ReRAM以一种全新的基于3D ReRAM的全新固态驱动器来提供快得多的读写速度和高密度容量,从而解决高解析度显示屏和高清电影提出的挑战。若能将CMOS逻辑单元和3D ReRAM存储器集成在同一芯片上,则可以实现更为强大安全的、受到数字版权保护(DRM)媒体存储解决方案。

Crossbar正在与战略合作伙伴紧密合作,来满足消费者对即时的、安全的获取多媒体家庭娱乐和游戏的期望。

如果没有一个行之有效的方法来控制潜泄电流,高密度3D ReRAM在技术上是无法实现的。Crossbar的转换器是第一个能够克服这一设计挑战的解决方案,为太字节(terabyte)单芯片存储器成为可能铺平了道路,也为ReRAM成为领先的下一代NAND内存替代物奠定基础。
Alan Niebel
创始人兼CEO, Webfeet Research

Consumers create, access and distribute enormous quantities of rich multimedia every day and expect to stream and enjoy that content instantly on their tablets, smart phones, gaming systems, and televisions. Innovations in high-resolution displays drive demand for high-capacity storage solutions. A 4K Ultra High Definition TV integrates 4X more pixels compared to 1080p Full HD displays. The next generation 8K high-resolution displays have more than 33 Megapixels per frame, requiring 100 Mbytes of storage for a single raw picture. This massive increase of multimedia file size is revolutionizing the physical media storage industry as a 2hr movie in 4K resolution and more advanced resolution is facing challenges to fit in current Blu-Ray optical disks. Solid-state storage industry has to re-invent the way we store and distribute physically multi-media content.

Crossbar ReRAM meets the challenge of growing file sizes

Even with the most advanced compression codecs, the high-definition multimedia contents require huge bandwidth to be written and read without pre-buffering. The end-user experience will suffer from the inherent latencies introduced by the design and physics constraints of Optical disks and NAND-Flash based Solid-State Drives.

Crossbar’s ReRAM is providing much faster read and write speeds and high-density capabilities to answer the challenges of high-resolution displays and high-definition movies by enabling a new category of Solid-State Drives based on 3D ReRAM. The potential integration of CMOS logic and 3D ReRAM storage in a single die enable great possibilities to build more robust and secure Digital Right Management(DRM) protected media storage solutions.

Crossbar is working with strategic partners to meet consumer expectations for instant and secure access to their multimedia home entertainment and games libraries.

Without an effective way to suppress the sneak path current, high-density 3D ReRAM has been technically unachievable. Crossbar's selector is the first solution to overcome this design challenge, paving the way for terabyte storage-on-a-chip to become a reality and positioning ReRAM as the leading next generation NAND memory replacement.
Alan Niebel
Founder and CEO, Webfeet Research