一个全新的万物互联的世界正在兴起。物联网和工业互联网把我们带进了一个全新的时代,这个星球上几乎所有的设备都将相联,分享信息、管理远程升级和软件更新、以及与来自众多不同行业和应用的人们进行互动。

Crossbar ReRAM为互联世界带来真正的创新

在家庭和楼宇自动化、智能城市、智能农业和耕作中所用到的传感器节点网络正在改变我们观测和控制环境的方式。零售行业、供应链管理和船队控制已经改变了货物在全球被追踪和运输的方式。这些新一代的小型设备能够以小型电池驱动,或者从自身所在环境获得能量,在绝大部分时间都处于超低功耗的睡眠模式,而在需要时激活,完成从传感器获得数据、运行一些嵌入式算法、在数据可以被传送到云端之前将其保存在嵌入式存储器中、或者是激发附带的激励器。

这一范围广阔的互联设备网络需要非常紧凑的存储器用于保存和分享代码和信息,同时要求非常低的成本和功耗。它也要求能够切实可行地被整合到各种不同的设备中去,例如工业应用中的传感器,或是用在后院或者边远地区的能够经受极端气温的智能电表。

在物联网应用中,可用的能源通常非常有限。很多时候,系统需要在一枚CR2032纽扣电池在不充电的情况下运行10年,这对可接受的平均系统电流提出了很高的要求。将数据传送到云端是一项耗能的操作,而Crossbar ReRAM嵌入式技术正在促生全新的使用案例;在这些案例中,本地数据缓存因为能够减少数据被传送到云端的频率而更受青睐。

Crossbar ReRAM解决方案摒除了对昂贵的控制器或者复杂的存储器管理的需求,其低功耗、高速非易失性存储器可以很方便地与逻辑、模拟和RF器件一起整合到单芯片上,电池单次充电就能运行很多年,为互联世界带来真正的创新。

制造3D内存芯片并不是很难,难就难在将众多内存单元封装在一起,使其含有大量高密度的存储器,这是困扰了芯片制造商很久的难题。成功制造出含有大量密集封装的电路的3D结构,能够让内存芯片在非常小的尺寸里存储海量的数据,使得具有更少的响应时间和更低功耗的高密度存储成为可能。正因如此,从数据中心到智能手机的不同应用都能受益。
Dean Takahashi
主笔, VentureBeat

A new world of connected devices is emerging. With the Internet of Things and the Industrial Internet, we are entering an era where nearly every device on the planet will be connected to other devices, sharing information, managing remote upgrades and software updates, and interacting with people across a broad range of industries and applications.

Crossbar ReRAM can enable radical innovations in the connected device world

The network of sensor nodes used in home and building automation, smart cities, smart agriculture and farming is changing the way to monitor and control our environment. The retail industry, supply management and fleet control is already changing the way goods are being tracked and shipped around the globe. These new generations of tiny devices powered by small batteries or capable of harvesting energy from their own environment are most of their time in ultra low power sleep mode and are woke-up upon events to acquire data from sensors, process some embedded algorithms, store data in embedded memory before being able to transmit to the cloud or take actions with attached actuators.

This extensive network of connected devices will require very compact memory for storing and sharing code and information, with very low cost and power consumption. It needs to be practical for integration into devices as diverse as sensors in industrial applications and smart meters in backyards or remote locations that can withstand extreme temperatures.

In IoT applications, the available energy budget is the constraint. A 10 year lifetime on a single coin cell CR2032 dictates the acceptable average system current to operate without a battery charge. Transmitting data to the cloud is a power-hungry operation and Crossbar’s ReRAM embedded technology is enabling new use-cases where local data buffering is preferred as it reduces the frequency of data transmission to the cloud.

By eliminating the need for expensive controllers or complex memory management, Crossbar’s ReRAM solutions can enable radical innovations in the connected device world through low energy, fast non-volatile storage that can be easily integrated with logic, analog and RF onto a single chip, can operate for years without a battery charge.

Creating 3D memory chips isn't too hard. But packing the memory cells so they contain a lot of dense storage is a problem that has bedeviled chip makers for a while. Figuring out a way to create 3D structures with a lot of densely packed circuitry could result in memory chips that can store a ton of data in a very small space, enabling high-density storage with faster response times and lower power consumption. As such, it could be useful in everything from data centers to smartphones.
Dean Takahashi
Lead Writer, VentureBeat