智能手机已经改变了这个世界与人们日常的生活和工作方式。它已经成为你每天的工作与生活中,一个无处不在的设备了。可穿戴设备与各种传感器正在改变人们关注他们自己以及与外界互动的方式。在这个快速成长的领域,用户与设备之间平稳、即时的互动要求电池的续航时间足够长。用户期望智能手机与智能手表的续航时间能够持续数个星期。但是,目前基于闪存存储器的方案,即便是应对超过一天续航时间的要求,都面临巨大的挑战。

移动计算设备的用户期望有更小的、更方便携带、高性能、低功耗的移动设备,在各种环境条件下都能够让他们长时间可靠的工作。可穿戴设备的用户期望设备能够快速唤醒,应用能够快速启动,然后在下一次人机交互前,让设备快速的进入待机模式。

Crossbar ReRAM是移动计算设备理想的高整合度存储解决方案 Crossbar ReRAM将促生新一代的可穿戴电子产品

和目前业界最高等级的NAND闪存相比,Crossbar’s ReRAM存储技术拥有低100倍的读取延时,快20倍的写入性能,高10倍的存储容量,以及低20倍的功耗。这一技术还使得在高端应用处理器CMOS芯片上集成如此高性能的存储器阵列,从而消除外部存储器所带来的瓶颈成为可能。移动计算架构基于ReRAM技术进行重构,这为一个高度集成的存储+计算系统时代的到来铺平了道路,宣告了基于突触的神经元处理革命的到来。

无论是笔记本电脑、平板电脑、智能手机或者可穿戴设备, Crossbar高性能存储解决方案都能使它们成为更小、功能更丰富的设备,使其能够处理当今和未来的应用和内容,并且不会对至关重要的电池寿命带来损害。

当Crossbar第一次出现在我们眼前的时候,毫无疑问闪存已经对最新的需求无能为力,而业界也将目光聚焦在ReRAM上,认定它是最有希望的下一代高密度非易失性内存技术。从那时起,Crossbar就取得了很多重要的技术进展,而现在我们也看到了Crossbar ReRAM技术的实体验证,并且能够看到这一下一代存储技术的商用之路。
Greg Wong
创始人、主席兼首席分析师, Forward Insights

The smartphone has changed the world and people’s daily life and work. It has become the universal device that is always with you. Wearable devices and sensors are changing the way people take care of themselves and interact with the world while they’re on the go. In this rapidly growing segment, smooth, instantaneous interactions between the user and the device are as vital as size and battery life. User’s expectation about smartphone and smart watches are in weeks. Current solutions based on Flash based solid state storage solutions face challenges to last more than a day.

The users of mobile computing expect to have smaller, more portable, high performance, low power mobile device, enabling them to function reliably for long periods in a broad range of environmental conditions. The wearable devices’ users are expecting to enable very fast wake-up and application launch time, then put back these wearable electronic devices in stand-by mode before next user interaction.

Crossbar ReRAM is ideal as an integrated storage solution in mobile computing devices Crossbar ReRAM will enable a new generation of wearable electronics

Crossbar’s ReRAM memory technology delivers 100X lower read latency, 20x faster write performance, 10x high capacity, 20x lower power consumption compared to today’s best-in-class NAND Flash memory. What this technology enables is also the possibility to integrate such high performance memory arrays on top of high-end application processors CMOS chip to get rid of external memory component bottleneck. Mobile computing architectures can be re-invented with ReRAM technology, paving the way to a new era of tightly integrated memory + computing systems, announcing synapse-based neuromorphic processing revolution.

Whether it’s a laptop, a tablet, a smartphone or a wearable device, Crossbar high-performance memory solutions are ideal for enabling them to be smaller and more feature-packed than ever, giving them the capacity they need for handling today’s and future applications and content without sapping crucial battery life.

When Crossbar first emerged from stealth-mode, there was no question that flash memory was running out of steam and the industry had set its sights on ReRAM as the next generation technology with the most promise for high density non-volatile memory. Since then, the company has achieved major technical advances and with this announcement, we now have silicon proof of Crossbar ReRAM technology and can see a potential path towards the commercialization of a next generation storage technology.
Greg Wong
Founder, President and Principal Analyst, Forward Insights