Prof. Tsu-Jae King Liu

Tsu-Jae King Liu received the B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in 1984, 1986 and 1994, respectively. She joined the Xerox Palo Alto Research Center as a Member of Research Staff in 1992, to research and develop polycrystalline-silicon thin-film transistor technologies for high-performance flat-panel display and imaging applications. During her tenure with Xerox PARC, she served as a Consulting Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University. In August 1996 she joined the faculty of the University of California at Berkeley, where she now holds the TSMC Distinguished Professorship in Microelectronics in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences (EECS). From 2000 to 2004 and from 2006 to 2008, she served as the Faculty Director of the UC Berkeley Microfabrication Laboratory. From 2003 to 2004, she also served as Vice Chair for Graduate Matters in the EECS Department. In 2004-2006 she was Senior Director of Engineering in the Advanced Technology Group of Synopsys, Inc.(Mountain View, CA). From July 2008 through June 2012 she was Associate Dean for Research in the College of Engineering. From July 2012 through June 2016 she was Chair of the Electrical Engineering Division, and from July 2014 through June 2016 she was Chair of the EECS Department. From July 2016 through September 2016 she served as Associate Dean for Academic Planning and Development in the College of Engineering. Since October 2016 she has been serving as Vice Provost for Academic and Space Planning.

Prof. Liu’s awards include the Ross M. Tucker AIME Electronics Materials Award (1992) for seminal work in polycrystalline silicon-germanium thin films, an NSF CAREER Award (1998) for research in thin-film transistor technology, the DARPA Significant Technical Achievement Award (2000) for development of the FinFET, the Electrical Engineering Award for Outstanding Teaching at UC Berkeley (2003), the IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award (2010) for contributions to nanoscale MOS transistors, memory devices, and MEMs devices, the Electrochemical Society Dielectric Science and Technology Division Thomas D. Callinan Award (2011) for excellence in dielectrics and insulation investigations, the Intel Outstanding Researcher in Nanotechnology Award (2012), the SIA University Researcher Award (2014), and the SRC Aristotle Award (2016). Her research activities are presently in nanometer-scale logic and memory devices, and advanced materials, process technology, and devices for energy-efficient electronics. She has authored or co-authored 500 publications and holds over 90 patents.

Prof. Liu is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and a past member of The Electrochemical Society (ECS), the Society for Information Display (SID), and the Materials Research Society (MRS). She has served on committees for many technical conferences including the Device Research Conference, the International Conference on Solid State Devices and Materials, the International Electron Devices Meeting, and the Symposium on VLSI Technology, was a member of the IEEE EDS VLSI Technology and Circuits Technical Committee. She presently serves as a member of the NAE (North America and Europe) Executive Committee of the Symposia on VLSI Technology and Circuits, as Editor-in-Chief for IEEE Electron Device Letters, and on the Board of Directors for Intel Corporation.

Prof. Wei Lu

Prof. Wei D. Lu co-founded Crossbar in 2010 focusing on the commercialization of resistive-switching device based memory technology. He brings over 20 years of expertise in nanostructures and devices including high-density memory and logic devices based on two-terminal resistive switches, neuromorphic circuits, semiconductor nanowire devices, and electrical transport in low-dimensional systems.

He is currently a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and Applied Physics at the University of Michigan. Prof. Lu was also a postdoctoral research fellow at Harvard University from 2003-2005.

Prof. Lu specializes in the research and development of silicon-based, CMOS compatible, high-performance, non-volatile crossbar memory. His achievements include the first integration of crossbar RRAM array with CMOS circuitry without using external transistor or diode as selectors. He also was first to demonstrate that resistive switching devices can effectively emulate synapse for neuromorphic system applications.

He won the NSF Career Award in 2010 and the Wilson Award in 2003. He has published 100 journal papers that have been cited over 10,000 times by peer researchers. Dr. Lu has given plenary or invited talks at a host of international conferences such as IEDM, IEEE Nano, NVMTS and MRS.

Prof. Lu is an active member of the Emerging Research Device working group of ITRS and co-editor-in-chief of Nanoscale, a flagship journal of the Royal Society of Chemistry. He has also served as a reviewer and panelist for NSF, DOE, ARO, AFOSR and over 30 other scientific journals.

Prof. Lu has a Ph.D. in Physics from Rice University in Texas, and a Bachelor of Science in Physics from Tsinghua University in China.

Prof. Mervyn Rose

Prof. Mervyn Rose is Professor of Physical Electronics and is Head of Division of Electronic Engineering and Physics at the University of Dundee in the UK. He has been on the Academic staff since 1992 and, prior to that, was on the research staff in the Amorphous Materials Research Group.

  • Director of the Amorphous Materials Research Group
  • Director of DisplayMasters, an Inter-University Masters Programme aimed at training a new generation of Display Technologists for future high technology applications
  • Member of the EPSRC College
  • Panel member of the DTI/EPSRC LINK Information and Storage Device Committee
  • DTI consultant on Display Technology
  • Fellow of the Institute of Physics (since 2004)