Crossbar ReRAM技术基于一个简单的结构,采用CMOS工艺常用的材料以及标准的制造工艺。它可以很容易地在现有的CMOS工厂进行工艺整合和制造,无需任何特别的机器设备或者材料。由于Crossbar ReRAM是低温后段制程工艺整合,使得多层Crossbar ReRAM阵列可以被整合到CMOS逻辑晶圆之上,从而创建3D ReRAM存储芯片。

Crossbar ReRAM单元运作是基于在一个非导电层里存储一个金属性通道,这与在闪存内存单元里存储电子有所不同。哪怕很少的电子损耗会引发可靠性问题,所以维持和循环是一个挑战。这也是为什么闪存的性能在小的制程工艺节点会有所降低的原因。Crossbar ReRAM在不同节点上都不会影响设备的性能,并且有望被用于10纳米一下的工艺节点。

闪存性能在小的制程工艺节点有所降低

闪存技术如何扩展

Crossbar ReRAM技术在工艺节点缩小时不会影响器件的性能,并且有望被用于10纳米以下的制造工艺。

Crossbar ReRAM技术如何扩展

Crossbar ReRAM技术的多面性展示了众多特性,可以实现多种全新的存储解决方案类别。Crossbar ReRAM单元的内建选择特性允许不同的内存阵列配置,一个晶体管可以驱动一个或者成千上万个内存单元,从而实现了针对不同目标应用的灵活设计:嵌入式代码存储的快速读取和处理器的直接执行,或者对数据存储应用数据的高密度、低延滞读取。

Crossbar ReRAM技术相较NAND闪存能够降低读取延滞100倍,加快写入速度20倍,并且不像NAND闪存那样,可以不受限制地在大型模块中建立内存阵列可以独立的以原子级的方式擦除。Crossbar ReRAM技术可以以小页模式建构,可以被独立地擦除或者重新编程。通过移除无用单元回收所要求的大量后台内存读取,这种全新的存储架构大大简化了存储控制器的复杂度。该技术的写入放大率为1,从而为用户带来低的读写延滞、更低功耗以及存储解决方案更长生命周期的好处。

凭借这些突破性的性能和可靠性、超高的容量、低功耗以及针对多种存储架构的可调性,Crossbar将为消费电子企业存储移动计算工业/汽车/医疗物联网以及可穿戴设备应用带来一波新的创新。

性能

为了在用户端维持令人满意的性能指标,固态硬盘(SSDs)存储系统设计师们不得不开发复杂的架构和算法,以应对3D MLC/TLC NAND闪存所固有的设计局限。当NAND制造商试图通过缩减设计从而降低成本时,复杂的系统在实际的用户案例中对性能产生了影响,从而导致了SSD测试基准中出现的主要的系统瓶颈问题。

NAND闪存程序运作很缓慢,并且是在大型页面的粒度上完成的。当今的MLC/TLC NAND或者3D NAND闪存需要600微妙到1毫秒来对一个8-16K字节的页面进行编程。对于典型的用户案例来说,这个速度太慢了,所以每一个程序运作必须首先被重新导向到一个位于临时位置的写入缓存,比如一个SRAM或者DRAM缓存或者一个以SLC模式配置的NAND分区。

NAND闪存在进行编程前必须进行擦除。NAND的擦除操作非常慢,需时10毫秒左右,并且在一个非常大的4-8兆模块中进行。为了克服这一重要的设计局限,可以让SSD控制器来管理逻辑到物理(L2P)映射,对原始和校正数据位置进行追踪,并使得在必须进行模块擦除操作前推迟该操作成为可能。

释放单元回收代表了数据管理的另一个附加层面,它被要求用于在存储器处于空闲模式时正确释放模块中的无用数据。当释放单元回收在模块间转移数据时,新产生的请求可能产生问题。这是一种典型的惩罚,会导致长达数秒的冗长的、不确定的延滞。

因此,对于一次SSD的写入,通常会有几次SSD控制器、NAND闪存和DRAM部件之间的后台内存操作。这被称为写入放大(WA),它可以用来衡量控制器的效率。大部分系统的WA通常在3-4之间。更高的WA数值会直接影响存储设备的可靠性和性能,因为它放大了对设备写入的次数,使得一个单元处于速度快得多的最高周期。这点在相对更小的技术节点上显得更为相关,在这些技术节点上,NAND内存单元的最高周期降至3000程序周期以下。

这些复杂的问题很大程度影响了终端用户的体验,并解释了与SSD制造商所提供的SSD规格相比较,为什么SSD基准测出的性能会有所不同。在按此写入的情况下,假如用户想从网络上下载一部高清电影到本地存储器上,或者当SSD在例如企业存储环境中被广泛使用时,这些问题无法掩盖NAND闪存技术固有的设计局限。

Crossbar ReRAM技术无需在编程前进行擦除操作。对ReRAM的单次写入可以在很小的页面颗粒上非常快地完成。下一代针对ReRAM进行优化的SSD控制器将能够以更快的速度更新更小的页面,并大幅降低NAND所需要的后台内存操作。基于ReRAM的SSD将提供更低、更确定的读取延滞(数十微秒)。

密度

Crossbar拥有专利的转换器设备解决了高密度ReRAM开发人员面临的最大技术挑战之一,它被称为潜泄电流(或漏电流)。Crossbar的3D ReRAM存储解决方案是基于1TnR阵列(1个晶体管驱动n个电阻式内存单元),其选择率使得让一个晶体管管理很大数量的内联的内存单元成为可能,从而实现很大容量的固态存储。在1TnR模式下,1个晶体管能够以非常低的功耗驱动超过2000个内存单元,但也会遇到潜泄电流的漏电问题,对典型ReRAM阵列的性能和可靠性产生干扰。Crossbar拥有专利的电场辅助超线性阈值转换器设备解决了这一漏电问题,它采用了一个超线性阈值层,里面有一个在阈值电压值上形成的易变性传导通路。这样的电场辅助超线性阈值设备是业内第一个能够将泄露电流抑制在0.1纳安之下的转换器,并已在一个4 Mbit整合3D堆叠式被动Crossbar阵列中成功实现。

Crossbar的转换器在2014年年底的IEDM上进行了展示,它实现了有报告以来最高的选择率(1010),低于5mV/dec的极锐开启斜率,超过100M周期的耐久性,以及低于300摄氏度的处理温度,解决了潜泄通路问题,从而解决了潜泄通道问题,体现了商用可行性。Crossbar的转换器是第一个解决了这一设计挑战的解决方案,为在单芯片上实现太字节级别的存储成为现实铺平了道路,从而使得ReRAM成为领先的下一代NAND内存替代品。

能耗

Crossbar ReRAM技术将简化多个数据存储部件和SSD或者其他类似数据存储解决方案中的控制器之间的数据读写管理。减少后台内存操作的数量有助于提高数据存储解决方案的性能和总体耐久性,但也降低了SSD控制器的功耗和对DRAM的使用,以及数据存储部件在进行读写时的功耗。

在内存单元层面,Crossbar ReRAM提升了编程性能和功耗效率。它实现了64pJ/cell的编程功耗,与NAND闪存相比这是20倍的提升。

可制造性和可扩展性

Crossbar ReRAM包含简单的双端器件,能够被整合到后端金属层,从而成为替代NAND闪存的完美、低成本解决方案。毫无疑问,平面MLC/TLC NAND正面临扩展性的挑战,而其性能在10 纳米节点也将有所减损。当20纳米级别的3D NAND开始被考虑成为平面NAND的替代品时,3D NAND技术在进入10纳米级别节点时将面临同样的可扩展性挑战和性能减损。

从单元角度来看,电阻式内存元件在设备面积减小时仍会产生同样的导通电流,但是关闭电流会被降低。导通电流和关闭电流的比率通常从几百到超过1000。它也改善了传感范围,使得以更少的复杂CMOS外设电路进行传感以及在更小的技术节点实现MLC/TLC成为可能。Crossbar ReRAM丝基电阻式内存元件能把单元尺寸扩展到10纳米以下。

有两项工艺参数非常重要——转换材料的膜厚(TSL)和转换电极的关键尺寸(CD)。这些参数通过使用当今最尖端的制造设备可以很容易地得以控制,包括当今20-40纳米节点晶圆代工厂中所使用的光刻、PECVD薄膜沉积、以及金属刻蚀机台。

Crossbar ReRAM能够使用与制造基于CMOS的外设电路一样的整套设备,内存元件可以在低温工艺下嵌入。ReRAM单元嵌入的热预算不会对CMOS器件性能产生影响。取决于内存的种类,ReRAM层通常可以在多达16个堆栈的热预算下正常工作,而不会给器件性能带来显著的改变。3D ReRAM堆栈与3D NAND堆栈截然不同,它可以非常容易地使用后端整合来实现。

到目前为止,还没有一个切实可行的2D或者3D NAND的替代技术。存储级内存,例如Crossbar的ReRAM,有机会把握住这一价值超过400亿美元的市场机遇。Crossbar仍在研制中的ReRAM技术已经取得了显著的商业化进展。延续这一轨迹,他们将能够以一个具有成本效益的、多层(8)ReRAM来引领市场,超越3D NAND或其他3D ReRAM竞争对手。
Alan Niebel
创始人兼CEO, Webfeet Research
Crossbar不声不响地带来了一个极具吸引力的、全新的替代存储器技术。他们的解决方案的关键是建于存储单元(cell)之中的选择器件。其他的ReRAM技术使用一个外部器件,会带来噪音问题。而Crossbar的方案显示出了重要优势。
Jim Handy
总监, Objective Analysis

Crossbar’s ReRAM technology is based on a simple device structure using CMOS friendly materials and standard manufacturing process. It can be easily integrated and manufactured into existing CMOS fabs without any special equipment or materials. As it is a low temperature Back-End-Of-Line process integration, multiple layers of Crossbar ReRAM arrays can be integrated on top of CMOS logic wafers building a 3D ReRAM storage chips.

Crossbar’s ReRAM cell operation is based on the storage of a metallic filament in a non-conductive layer compared to electron storage in a Flash memory cell. A few electron loss causes a reliability issue, retention and cycling become a challenge. This is the reason why Flash memory performance degrades in small process geometries. Crossbar’s ReRAM scaling does not impact the device performance and has potential for sub 10nm scaling.

Flash memory performance degrades in small process geometries

How Flash Technology Scales

Crossbar’s ReRAM scaling does not impact device performance and has potential for sub 10nm scaling

How Crossbar ReRAM Technology Scales

The versatility of Crossbar’s ReRAM technology exhibits broad range of device characteristics that enables several new classes of storage solutions. The built-in select feature of Crossbar’s ReRAM cell allows various memory array configurations where a single transistor can drive one or thousands of memory cells resulting in flexible design possibilities depending on the targeted applications: fast read access for embedded code storage and direct execution by processors or high-density low latency access for data storage applications.

Crossbar ReRAM technology delivers 100x lower read latency and 20x faster write performance compared to NAND Flash and doesn’t have the Flash design constraint to build memory arrays in large blocks that can be independently but atomically erased. Crossbar’s ReRAM technology can be architected with small pages that can be independently erased or re-programmed. This new storage architecture simplifies drastically the complexity of the storage controller by removing a large portion of the background memory accesses required for garbage collection. With a Write Amplification equals to 1, the benefits to the users are visible in terms of read and write latencies, lower energy consumption and increased lifetime of the storage solutions.

With that breakthrough performance and reliability, very high capacity, low power consumption and tunability to multiple storage architectures, Crossbar will enable a new wave of electronics innovation for consumer electronics, enterprise storage, mobile computing, industrial/automotive/medical, connected devices and wearable device applications.

Performance

In order to maintain acceptable performance characteristics at the user-level, storage systems designers for solid state drives (SSDs) have had to develop complex architectures and algorithms to work around the inherent design limitations of 3D MLC/TLC NAND Flash. As NAND manufacturers attempt to scale down to reduce cost, the complex system of workarounds has impacted performances in real-life use-cases, causing major system bottlenecks visible in SSD benchmarks.

NAND Flash program operation is slow and is done at the granularity of a large page size. Current MLC/TLC NAND or 3D NAND Flash need about 600µs to 1ms to program a 8 to 16Kbytes page. As this is too slow to be accepted by typical use-cases, every program operation has to been re-oriented first to a write buffer in a temporary location, a SRAM or DRAM buffer or a NAND partition configured in SLC mode.

NAND Flash has to be erased prior to being programmed. The NAND erase operation is slow, in the 10ms range and is done for a very large block size, 4-8Mbytes. To overcome this critical design limitation, a Logic to Physical (L2P) mapping is managed by the SSD controller to keep track of original and revised data locations and enable the delaying block erase operations until necessary.

The Garbage Collection is an additional layer of data management required to properly free-up blocks with obsolete data when storage is idle. The problem occurs when a new request is coming while the garbage collection is moving data from blocks to blocks. This typical penalty introduces long and undeterministic latencies in the range of seconds.

Consequently, for one single write to a SSD, this is common to see several background memory operations between the SSD controller, the NAND Flash and DRAM components. This is called the Write Amplification (WA) and it measures the efficiency of the controller. Most systems typically have WA somewhere between 3 and 4. Higher WA directly affects the reliability and performance of the storage device, since it amplifies the number of writes to the device, bringing a cell to its maximum cycles that much faster. This is especially relevant at smaller technology nodes, where the maximum cycle of a NAND memory cell decreases to below three thousand program cycles.

These complex work-arounds drastically impact the end-user experience and explain the different performances measured on SSD benchmarks compared to SSD specifications provided by SSD manufacturers. In case of sequential writes, for example when a user wants to download a high-resolution movie from the network to a local media storage, or when SSD are extensively used like in an enterprise storage environment, these work-arounds cannot hide the intrinsic design limitations of the NAND Flash technology.

Crossbar’s ReRAM technology does not require any erase operation prior to being programmed. A single write to a ReRAM can be done very fast, and at a small page granularity. Next-generation SSD controllers optimized for ReRAM will be able to update smaller pages faster and drastically reduce the background memory operations required for NAND. ReRAM-based SSD will provide lower and more deterministic read latencies, in the range of tens of us.

Density

Crossbar’s patented selector device solves one of the greatest technical challenges faced by developers of high-density ReRAM called the sneak current (or leakage current). Crossbar’s 3D ReRAM storage solutions are based on 1TnR arrays (1 Transistor driving n Resistive memory cell), selectivity making it possible for a single transistor to manage a very large number of interconnected memory cells, which enables very high capacity solid-state storage. While 1TnR enables a single transistor to drive over 2,000 memory cells with very low power, it also experiences leakage of a sneak path current that interferes with the performance and reliability of a typical ReRAM array. Crossbar’s patented field assisted superlinear threshold selector device solves that leakage problem by utilizing a super linear threshold layer, in which a volatile conduction path is formed at the threshold voltage. This field assisted superlinear threshold device is the industry’s first selector capable of suppressing the leakage current below 0.1nA and has been successfully demonstrated in a 4 Mbit integrated 3D stackable passive Crossbar array.

Demonstrated at IEDM in late 2014, Crossbar’s selector solves the sneak path problem by achieving the highest reported selectivity of 1010, as well as an extremely sharp turn-on slope of less than 5mV/dec, fast turn-on and recovery (<50ns), an endurance greater than 100M cycles, and a processing temperature less than 300°C, all ensuring commercial viability. Crossbar’s selector is the first solution to overcome this design challenge, paving the way for terabyte storage-on-a-chip to become a reality and positioning ReRAM as the leading next generation NAND memory replacement

Energy

Crossbar’s ReRAM technology will simplify the management of data writes and data reads between the multiple data storage components and the controller within a SSD or other similar data storage solution. Reducing the number of background memory operations improves the performance and overall endurance of the data storage solution but also reduces the overall power consumption of both the SSD controller, the DRAM usage and the read and write power budget consumed by the data storage components.

At the memory cell level, Crossbar’s ReRAM improves programing performance and power consumption by achieving a 64pJ/cell program energy, a 20X improvement compared to NAND Flash technology.

Manufacturability & Scalability

Crossbar’s ReRAM, involving simple two-terminal device, can be integrated into back-end metal layers to provide an elegant and low-cost solution as the most viable alternative to NAND Flash solutions. There is no question that planar MLC/TLC NAND is facing scaling challenges and performance degradation at the 1y nm node. While 3D NAND starting at 2x nm is considered to be an alternative to planar NAND, 3D NAND technology will suffer from the same scalability challenges and performance degradation when it migrates to the 1x nm node.

From a cell perspective, resistive memory elements boast the same on-current as the device area is scaled down, but have reduced off-currents. On/off current ratios, from a few hundred to more than a thousand, are typical. This also improves the sensing margin, enabling both sensing with less complicated CMOS peripheral circuitry and the ability to do MLC/TLC at smaller technology nodes. Crossbar’s ReRAM filament-based resistive memory elements enable cells to be scaled to sub-10nm sizes.

Two fab process parameters are critical to the device – the thickness of the switching layer film (TSL), and the critical dimension (CD) over which the switching phenomenon occurs. Both of these are easily controlled with current state-of-the-art manufacturing tools for lithography, PECVD film deposition, and metal etch tools in today’s 20 to 40 nm node fabs.

Crossbar’s ReRAM can use the same equipment set currently used in manufacturing the peripheral CMOS-based circuits and the memory element can be implemented at low temperatures. The thermal budget of the ReRAM implementation does not impact the CMOS. And depending on the type of memory, ReRAM layers can typically survive the thermal budget up to 16 stacks without showing significant changes to device performance. 3D ReRAM stacking is totally different from 3D NAND stacking and can be done very easily using backend integration.

To date, there has not been a viable 2D or 3D NAND replacement technology. Storage Class Memories like Crossbar's ReRAM have a chance of capturing this elusive NAND replacement $40+ billion prize. Crossbar's working ReRAM technology array demonstrates significant commercialization progress. Continuing on this trajectory they could lead the market with a cost effective crosspoint, multi-layer (8) ReRAM ahead of the 3D NAND or their 3D ReRAM competition.
Alan Niebel
Founder and CEO, Webfeet Research
Crossbar came out of stealth mode with a fascinating new alternative memory technology. Key to their solution is the selection device built into the cell. Other ReRAM technologies use an external device that can introduce noise problems. With this, Crossbar appears to have an important advantage.
Jim Handy
Director, Objective Analysis