可变电阻式内存(ReRAM)在研发新的、具有更大可扩展性、高容量、高性能和高可靠性存储解决方案的竞赛中被视为最具希望的技术而被普遍看好。

一个典型的ReRAM单元具有一个转换材料,它具有不同的电阻特性,并且被夹在两个金属电极之间。ReRAM的转换效应是基于在电场或者高温的影响下产生的离子运动以及转换材料存储离子分布的能力而实现的,从而引发设备电阻的可度量变化。

Crossbar ReRAM技术易于实现,降低生产成本

有很多不同的方法来实现ReRAM,它们采用不同的转换材料和内存单元组织结构。不同的材料所具有的不同变量可以导致显著的性能差异。ReRAM技术最常见的挑战在于热敏度、与标准CMOS技术和制造工艺的整合、以及每一个ReRAM单元的选择机制。

ReRAM已经成为众多研究和开发的主题,一些公司声称会在未来1-2年实现原型内存芯片。

Crossbar ReRAM技术以非导电非晶硅(a-Si)作为金属丝形成的基质材料。其基于电子场的转换机制使得Crossbar ReRAM单元能够在很大的温度范围内稳定工作。

Crossbar ReRAM的单元结构简单、所采用的材料、工艺步骤和制造机台都是通用的,这使得任何一家半导体代工厂都能够通过授权Crossbar ReRAM技术来开展内存业务,制造存储级内存芯片。

ReRAM内存的性能和比特/尺寸密度取决于内存单元的内联方式。嵌入式低延滞、高速内存可以通过用一个晶体管对每一个内存单元进行单独控制来实现。在1T1R(每1个ReRAM单元有一个晶体管)的阵列组织结构中,内存的总体积由晶体管的体积所决定。高密度存储级内存要求一个密度高得多的内存阵列组织结构来实现成本效益,这就要求能够用一个单一的晶体管来连接成千上万的内存单元。这种1TnR组织结构只有当ReRAM单元具有某种内建的选择机制,可以单独地、或者不指定地选择ReRAM单元时才有可能实现。

Crossbar ReRAM已经在晶圆代工厂生产出可工作的阵列证明了其可制造性。

Crossbar ReRAM I/V曲线(1T1R和1TnR)

与传统的NAND闪存相比,Crossbar ReRAM速度快的多、位元可修改并且只需要更低的电压,使它能够被用于嵌入式和SSD应用。Crossbar ReRAM技术的多面性使得内存单元在1T1R阵列中相联时能够实现非常低延滞的内存读取,或者在交点1TnR阵列中实现最佳的面积效率(4F2单元),这都要归功于Crossbar拥有专利的内建选择特性。

Crossbar ReRAM技术的可制造性已通过在商业代工厂制造的工作阵列所证明。这一工作芯片是将单片CMOS控制器和内存阵列芯片整合在一起。公司目前正在完成这一器件的特性化和优化,并计划将第一个产品向嵌入式SoC市场提供,同时还将继续在先进的制程工艺节点上推进高密度存储级内存阵列的研发。

在当今所存储的所有数据中,有90%是在过去两年内生成的。数据生成及对数据的即刻访问已经成为现代用户体验的一个不可或缺的部分,也将在可见的未来继续推动存储的迅速增长。然而,目前的存储技术,即平面NAND,当进一步缩小光学尺寸,达到物理和工程极限时,遇到了挑战。下一代非易失性记忆体,象Crossbar的ReRAM, 会避免这些限制,提供足够的性能和容量而成为记忆体的新方案。
Michael Yang
高级主要分析师,内存和存储业务 , IHS Technology

Resistive random-access memory (ReRAM) is widely hailed as the most promising technology in the race to develop new, more scalable, high capacity, high performance and reliable storage solutions.

A typical ReRAM cell has a switching material with different resistance characteristics sandwiched by two metallic electrodes. The switching effect of ReRAM is based on the motion of ions under the influence of an electric field or heat and the switching material’s ability to store the ion distribution, which in turn causes a measurable change of the device resistance.

Crossbar ReRAM technology is simple to implement, reducing manufacturing costse

There are different approaches to implementing ReRAM, based on different switching materials and memory cell organization. Those variables drive significant performance differences among the different materials being used. The most common challenges for ReRAM technology are temperature sensitivity, integration with standard CMOS technology and manufacturing process and the select mechanism of individual ReRAM cells.

ReRAM has already been the subject of intense research and development, with several companies claiming to have prototype memory chips available in the next 1-2 years.

Crossbar ReRAM technology is based on non-conductive amorphous silicon (a-Si) as the host material for a metallic filament formation. The switching mechanism is based on an electric field making Crossbar ReRAM cell behavior very stable across a wide temperature range.

The simple structure of Crossbar ReRAM cell, its commonly used materials, process steps and manufacturing tools enable any semiconductor foundries to enter the memory business by licensing Crossbar ReRAM technology and produce storage class memory chips.

The performance and bits/area density of ReRAM memories depend on the way memory cells are interconnected. Embedded low latency high speed memory operations can be achieved by controlling individually each memory cell with a transistor. In this 1T1R (1 Transistor per 1 ReRAM cell) array organization, the overall memory size is then dominated by the transistor size. High density storage class memories need a much denser memory array organization to be cost-effective that require the ability to connect thousands of memory cells with one unique transistor. This 1TnR organization is possible only if the ReRAM cell has some built-in select mechanism that can individually select or not specific ReRAM cells.

Crossbar ReRAM has proven its manufacturability with a working array produced in a commercial fab

Crossbar ReRAM I/V Curves (1T1R and 1TnR)

Compared to traditional NAND Flash memory, Crossbar ReRAM is much faster, bit-alterable and requires lower voltage, enabling its use in both embedded and SSD applications. The versatility of Crossbar’s ReRAM technology permits very low latency memory access when memory cells are connected in a 1T1R array or best area efficiency (4F2 cell) in a cross-point 1TnR array thanks to Crossbar’s patented built-in select feature.

Crossbar ReRAM technology has proven its manufacturability with a working array produced in a commercial fab. This working silicon is a fully integrated monolithic CMOS controller and memory array chip. The company is currently completing the characterization and optimization of this device and plans to bring its first product to market in the embedded SoC market while continuing the development of high-density storage class memory arrays in advanced process geometries.

Ninety percent of the data we store today was created in the past two years. The creation and instant access of data has become an integral part of the modern experience, continuing to drive dramatic growth for storage for the foreseeable future. However, the current storage medium, planar NAND, is seeing challenges as it reaches the lower lithographies, pushing against physical and engineering limits. The next generation non-volatile memory, such as Crossbar's ReRAM, would bypass those limits, and provide the performance and capacity necessary to become the replacement memory solution.
Michael Yang
Senior Principal Analyst, Memory and Storage, IHS Technology